Getting in the Way of Oneself

Have you ever noticed that the person who is the hardest on you…is YOU? I’ve certainly learned this over the years. We put so much pressure on ourselves to succeed in every area of our lives. Trying to force the hand to fit our situation. I love the phrase, “If you want to make God smile, tell him you have a plan.”

One of the most difficult things I have tried to learn is, to just be…to go with the flow. Has anyone ever told you to just chill? It’s easier said than done. I’ve told many others that same phrase. Unfortunately, I haven’t mastered it myself.

I need to learn to get out of my own way. To trust in the Universe and to believe that I am where I need to be in the present moment. My mind is in a constant motion, which is why meditation has been hard for me over the last several years. Trying to shut off all of the chatter and to be still, even for five minutes, can be difficult.

However, I do know that when I reach a moment of frustration or impatience, it doesn’t take me near as long as it once did to clear my thoughts and move forward. I remember hearing a great phrase that I tell myself during these moments, “I may not be where I want to be, but at least I’m not where I used to be. I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be.”

So if you’re having a bad moment, day, week, month, or year, don’t get in the way of yourself. Try to quiet your mind through meditation or any other diversion that clears your thoughts. Then tell yourself that everything is as it should be…and trust in the process. Take a quick glimpse at how far you’ve come to this point, and believe you’re doing everything right in that moment.

Remember the phrase, The Universe is for me, and so is everything else…and so it is!

Leave a Reply

