Food as Medicine

Hello everyone,

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. I meant to post in June, but that month has blown by with traveling, vacation, and then the sad loss of my mother-in-law.

I’ve gone through a lot of changes since January, and part of that was getting my body and digestion back on track. I have learned that the old phrase “You are what you eat”, is truer than you can imagine.

I have learned that you are what you eat, and since I began my detox and then slowly brought foods back into my diet, I can proudly say that my body is now healing and repairing itself. I discovered that my issue was more with my thyroid than anything else going on in my body.

I have permanently cut out caffeine, alcohol, fried and processed foods, white flours of any type, and processed wheat bread. I used to read labels, but now I REALLY read labels. I absolutely eat NO soy, it’s poison for me, and for a lot of women. I don’t drink milk, I’ve substituted with rice milk. I eat as much organic as I can and grass fed cows, chickens, etc. I eat tons of veggies, but no corn, and a fruit portion.

It’s really not a hard process, it’s mind over matter, and when your body finally tells you that it feels good, then it’s more than worth it. You can actually eat the right foods and it becomes a medicine for your body. I had no idea how amazing our bodies were.

I also take supplements that have been prescribed to me by my wellness doctor, and the BIGGEST accomplishment for me…I am now Premarin free. That’s right, I’ve quit taking the synthetic drug and am clearing my body. I will soon be sending my saliva to a lab in CA to determine what exactly my body needs. It’s a long process, but I’m in it for the long haul.

What does any of this have to do with metaphysics? I’ll tell you, since I’ve cleansed my body, it has cleared my mind and opened my heart to peace and serenity. It has helped me let go of fear and keep the faith in the decisions I make. Did I mention I was Premarin free 😉 It also helped me take the leap of faith and quit my mundane job to discover what my life’s purpose is…I’m still figuring it out 🙂

I feel I’m on a quest to learn about “me”. I’d like to help others. The biggest realization that I’ve had is “never” give up. It truly is about the journey. It’s a commitment, but in reality, it’s just the new norm for me. I don’t even think about what I put in my mouth anymore. It just is…healthy.

If you’re interested in what I actually did, leave a comment below. I’d be glad to share my experience. Keep the faith…and so it is…

One thought on “Food as Medicine

Leave a Reply

